Ed Sheeran Surprisingly Discloses Second New Album, ‘Autumn Variations’

Ed Sheeran Autumn Variations
Via Youtube

English singer-songwriter, Ed Sheeran has surprisingly announced his second new album, ‘Autumn Variations.’ Watch the announcement below.

He announced the album just months after releasing his comeback album ‘Subtract’. The album will be released on September 29 via Sheeran’s own Gingerbread Man Records and, like ‘Subtract’, was produced by The National‘s Aaron Dessner.

“Last autumn, I found that my friends and I were going through so many life changes. After the heat of the summer, everything either calmed, settled, fell apart, came to a head or imploded,” Sheeran said on Instagram.

“When I went through a difficult time at the start of last year, writing songs helped me understand my feelings and come to terms with what was going on, and when I learned about my friend’s different situations, I wrote songs, some from their perspectives, some from mine, to capture how they and I viewed the world at that time. There were highs of falling in love and new friendships among lows of heartbreak, depression, loneliness and confusion.”

“My dad and brother told me about a composer called Elgar, who composed ‘Enigma Variations’, where each of the 14 compositions were about a different one of his friends. This is what inspired me to make this album. When I recorded ‘Subtract’ with Aaron Dessner, we clicked immediately. We wrote and recorded non-stop and this album was born out of that partnership. I feel he has captured the feeling of autumn so wonderfully in his sonics and I hope everyone loves it as much as I do.”

READ MORE – Bob Dylan Center Reveals Annual Songwriter Fellowship

‘Autumn Variations’ tracklist:

1. ‘Magical’
2. ‘England’
3. ‘Amazing’
4. ‘Plastic Bag’
5. ‘Blue’
6. ‘American Town’
7. ‘That’s On Me’
8. ‘Page’
9. ‘Midnight’
10. ‘Spring’
11. ‘Punchline’
12. ‘When Will I Be Alright’
13. ‘The Day I Was Born’
14. ‘Head > Heels’

Ed Sheeran Surprisingly Discloses Second New Album, ‘Autumn Variations’