Fontaines D.C. Drops New Track, “Starburster,” Announce New Album ‘Romance’

Fontaines D.C. 2024 tour
Via Youtube

Irish post-punk band, Fontaines D.C. has dropped their new track, “Starburster,” from the upcoming album, ‘Romance.’ Listen to the full song below.

The new album, ‘Romance,’ will be released on August 23, and it follows 2022’s album Skinty Fia

“We’ve always had this sense of idealism and romance.” In a press release, guitarist Conor Deegan said of the album title, “Each album gets further away from observing that through the lens of Ireland, as directly as Dogrel. The second album is about that detachment, and the third is about Irishness dislocated in the diaspora. Now we look to where and what else there is to be romantic about.”

Chatten went on to cite the romantic undertones of the dystopian anime Akira as an inspiration. “I’m fascinated by that—falling in love at the end of the world,” he says. “The album is about protecting that tiny flame. The bigger Armageddon looms, the more precious it becomes.”

Romance Tracklist:

  • 01 Romance
  • 02 Starburster
  • 03 Here’s the Thing
  • 04 Desire
  • 05 In the Modern World
  • 06 Bug
  • 07 Motorcycle Boy
  • 08 Sundowner
  • 09 Horseness Is the Whatness
  • 10 Death Kink
  • 11 Favourite

Fontaines D.C. Drops New Track, “Starburster,” Announce New Album ‘Romance’

Like This Track? Stream & Download The Full Song By Clicking Here.